National Executive Officers

The AGM of the National Executive of the BSTAI was held in Dublin on Saturday 27th January.  We would like to thank Ultan Henry for his service as Honorary National President of the association for the past three years.  We would also like to thank Joan Martin, Claire Litton and Trisha Cooney for their service as Honorary National Secretary, Honorary National Conference Treasurer and Honorary National Treasurer respectively.

We are delighted to announce that Margaret McDonnell was elected as the new President of the association.  Margaret is a teacher of Accounting, Economics, Business Studies and Mathematics in St. Colmcille’s Community School in Knocklyon, Dublin 16.  She is a former Dublin branch officer and a founding officer of the Kerry branch.  She has been a member of the National Executive of the association for over twenty years and in that time has served as Honorary National Journal Editor, Honorary National Treasurer and Teacher Professional Network liaison. Following her appointment, the incoming President said “I am delighted and honoured to have been appointed President of the Business Studies Teachers’ Association of Ireland.  I look forward to representing the interests of all members and supporting teachers of Business subjects in these interesting times of change”.

Margaret McDonnell

Congratulations is also extended to Sandra Moran (Dublin branch), Mary Campbell (Midlands branch) and Trisha Cooney (Dublin branch) on their appointment as Honorary National Secretary, Honorary National Treasurer and Honorary National Conference Treasurer respectively.  Ciara O’Riordan, Keith Connolly and Siobhan O’Sullivan were reappointed as Honorary National PRO, Honorary National Social Media Officer and Honorary National ICT Co-ordinator respectively.

For full details of NCCA Course Committee Representatives and Sub-Committee Representatives, please see  Please note that all branches can send two representatives to the National Executive which meets three times a year.  If you would like to represent your branch on National Executive, you will need to be nominated and elected at a branch meeting.  Please contact your local branch officers who can provide you with more information.  The next meeting will take place on Saturday 12th May.  Further meeting will take place on Saturday 8th September and Saturday 26 January 2019.